Posted 13 Aug 2013 in Featured News, Headlines

Bruce, Shannon, Sauder, Baugh and Kelley get wins

(Peoria, IL) Towanda’s Donny Walden did what few have been able to do lately- hold off Todd Bennett-and won the Budweiser UMP Late Model feature at Peoria Speedway Saturday night.

Walden started on the pole and got the jump, but Bennett started next to Walden on the front row and challenged Walden each corner for the lead until caution flew on lap 3. After another caution on lap 4 for debris, the duo went back at it, reaching lapped traffic on lap 10. Both drivers drove all over the Peoria high banks through traffic, with Bennett never letting Walden out of his sight.

Bennett pulled even on lap 16, but heavy lapped traffic would force Bennett to follow Walden until he turned up the wick in open track and had run Walden down as they hit lapped traffic again on lap 27.

Bennett made a great run in traffic, and pulled back on to Walden’s bumper as the white flag flew, but could not make the pass and settled for 2nd. Jay Sparks, Bob Gardner and Russ Adams completed the top 5.

“Todd’s a great driver, he has more laps here than any active driver”, Walden said in victory lane. “It feels great to get a win here at Peoria. My crew chief lost his wife last his wife last year, so I would like to dedicate this win to Kay Bowman.”

Erik Bruce won his 4th straight DuPont Pioneer UMP Modified feature win, leading all 20 laps after starting outside row 1. Dale Munson started on the pole and has a spirited battle with Cody Bauman. Munson and Bauman battled over the last 8 laps until Bauman secured 2nd on lap 18. Munson ended up 3rd, followed by Brock Bauman and Jason Wagner.

“The track was great again tonight, you could run the top and bottom”, Bruce said. “The car was hooked up and we could run anywhere.”

Steve Shannon fended off Jason Wagner after a lap 12 caution, winning the Steel Block Late Model feature. Wagner, Carl Feger, Robbie Bauman Jr. (driving his fathers car) and Cody Wisher made up the top 5.

“The car was great again, and I was just trying to protect there at the end”, said Shannon.

Barry Sauder won his 4th straight UMP Street Stock feature event, fending off Terry Miller, who currently sits 5th in UMP National points. Wally Zander, Randy Cusack and Chuck Barnes. Jr. completed the top 5.

Andy Baugh held off last weeks’ winner Billy Brickley in the Speedway Motors Illinois Lightning Sprint Series, followed by Austin Archdale, Brad Funk and Jake Sollenberger.

“I want to thank everyone who works on this car, it was perfect tonight”, Baugh said.

Shane Kelley, who is currently 10th in UMP National points in the Hornet division, held off Tyler Etherton, Tyler Benson (5th in National points), Zach Bollinger and Rick Wagner for the win.

“I was trying to keep it wide there at the end, I knew he (Etherton) was back there.”

Next Saturday, August 17 is “Autism Awareness Night” at Peoria Speedway. Fans can get $1 off general admission by wearing blue. A full UMP racing program is on tap.

Posted by peoria

Leave a Reply